2006-01-05 5:44 p.m.

She's off her rocker and bye bye

Hello,

The back is feeling much better. I'm even sleeping better. I can roll over without pain ... always a good thing.

I found out an uncle passed away last week. A very nice man whose wife passed away a few of years ago. I talked to his daughter earlier today. I know this wasn't a surprise, but it sounds like my uncle was a lot more "with it" then most are and he was very frustrated with the way things worked out. He didn't want any extreme measures and ended up having them anyway. This person is my mother's mother's brother. My mother's last direct tie to her mother (who died long before I was born). I imagine my mother is pretty upset about this. However I'm still avoiding her, even though she called twice. Ugh. She seemed to indicate that she knew I wasn't going to call, but ... To be honest, at first I couldn't understand why she called so I wouldn't listen to the message. Later I realized what it must be, but still, I want her to leave me alone. Why am I this way?

I might figure that out this year. I looked up therapists today. I will go visit one next week. You know what I wish I could do? Walk in and ask them to fix me. If only it was that easy. The last time I did this, many moons ago, and not for very long, I had to read books and he wanted my mother and I to meet, in the same room. The nerve! LOL. It sounds reasonable, doesn't it? It scared me to death. Tell her I think she's a big pain in my ass in the same room as me? She's not rational. What crap would I get from doing that?

My sister is finally getting on the same page as me. It seems Mom did something "fun" with her. She stopped by to get something at my sister's that she left there at Christmas. My neices were on the porch playing and sis was doing laundry. Mom asked the kids about this item and they said they didn't know where it was. Mom replied "Bullshit!" and stormed into the house. (Keep in mind these are young kids, kindergardener and younger) Sis only heard the yelling and came up to see what was wrong. Mom didn't apologize, Sis was now mad, gave her her item and asked her to leave. She did. Then mom called yesterday with news about our uncle's death and acted like everything was fine. Love is never having to apologize? Maybe that was the moto and I missed it.

Frankly I think my sister is getting more crap than usual because of me. It probably seems like it's not a big thing. It's this little crap that gets me. I still remember the back cancer threat. To the best of my knowledge there's been no cancer, though if she could will it to happen it would. That cancer thing was a little off the cuff comment mom made when leaving a visit one day, said between the walk from the front door to her car. WTF?

Ok, we've already established that I've fallen off my rocker.

Boy, I wanted to say something nice about my uncle and ended up talking about my mother. Back to that uncle. You all won't get this one because I don't use the name here, but he's the one that gave me my nickname. It's a play on my real name. I don't recall that we visited this family a lot, but when we did, I always felt at home in their house. He'd let you touch anything and always had a story or a memory to share about you or the object you were interested in. He was one of these people who seemed genuinely interested in whatever you were discussing. He could stay on topic too. He was also very friendly and knew someone every where he went. He could network with the best of them. I have a feeling he had a very good memory. He was 94 years old. It's the end of era for our family. The church is going to be overflowing for his memorial. He was a warm friendly person, he'll be missed.

(Odd that he should be related to the prickly person in my life.)

Here's something uplifting: Bumper Sticker Ideas

previous | random | next