2005-12-30 10:12 p.m.

2005 is Over

2005 is almost done. I feel the need to reflect on the year. It's been a good one more or less. I truly expected to get laid off this year. It didn't happen. I'm happy about that, but it's made work more akward than I expected. Moral is down and I'm snippy. I try hard not to be that and yet I seem to be getting worse. I don't understand why. I seem to be ending the year feeling less than valuable and like a fish out of water. For the first time in ages I'm part of a programming team where I don't feel like I have anything to offer aside of being able to take good notes.

My memory is not what it used to be. I forget what I did in the beginning of the year. I remember breaking my foot. It was the first broken bone I've ever had. I started this diary. I finished my daughter's quilt. I gained back all the weight I lost a couple years before that. I severed my relationship with my mother which has stressed my relationship with my sister. My sister separated from her husband. It was expected, but it's been hard to watch that play out as bitterly as it has played out. I thought their divorce would be final by now, but he's working every angle he can. I've also watched a change in my sister that I'm not thrilled with. She a control freak. Well at least with regard to her soon-to-be-X. It's hurting her in this divorce thing. I'm hoping she'll try to comprimise soon. My kids are doing well. I'm very happy about that. They are doing well in school and have friends they can count on. They are also involved in more school activities this year. They kept up their end of the bargain on that one.

For next year I'd like to try working on being a kinder gentler person. Someone who is easier to work with and ... well no so snippy in every aspect of my life. I'd like to loose some weight too. I think we'll get to go somewhere tropical this year. That's a irst and I've wanted to do that since we got married.

I think we are having a quiet New Years Eve with a couple of friends. I think. It's silly, but I asked my sister, her bf, and another couple with their son to come over, but to be honest I don't know who is coming or what we are doing. I also thought it was going to be Sunday night and No it's tomorrow night. I don't even know what food I'm making. Bad Bad Bad. I'm don't even know if my neices are coming. I understood they were not, but it's my sister's weekend so now I don't know. I guess I'll be making phone calls tomorrow.

Happy New Year to you All!

previous | random | next