2005-11-22 2:57 p.m.

Confessions of Stupidity

This morning's radio topic was "Confessions of Stupidity". People called in with items such as:

So I felt I would share one of mine, though I'm certain I have more than one. When I was little I wore a lot of dresses and rarely any pants (and never jeans). Though I had a few ugly ones with stripes which were floods. Anyway, I moved to NC and everyone there wore pants. I met a set of twin girls named Lee and Lynn. They frequently wore jeans to school and every now and then I noticed that the label said: "Lee". For whatever the reason I assumed that their mother put their names on the back of their pants. One day I asked Lynn why she frequently wore her sister's pants. You can imagine that they got a good laugh out of that.

Here's a moment from my daughter's life. We went to a slot car outing where they had 2 tracks and about a dozen people. Each of the kids would rotate in and out of a spot so that everyone got a turn. The first time around my daughter got a spot. (Keep in mind she has never done this before.) They wanted to test out the track, so they were asking each child, by the color of the car, to take a test run around the track. Unfortunately they asked my daughter first: "Take the red car around the track". So ... she picked up the car and walked it around the track. The guy next to me laughed so hard that I thought he was going to hurt himself. I'm ashamed to admit that I was laughing too. I couldn't have predicted that moment. Poor thing. She's had a number of moments like that and I'm sure there are more to come.

I'm feeling better today. Good thing. I didn't want to be sick for Thanksgiving. I made an apple pie last night. I used a smaller pie crust than I usually do and I don't like the way the pie turned out. Hopefully it's edible. I have to make a pumpkin pie and a cake tonight.

Edited: I thought of another one for myself. Proof that my daughter and I are related. Have you ever belonged to a group where there is an initiation and you had to recite something? When I was younger, I think I was 12, I joined Rainbow. My father did the initiation and I guess I wasn't really listening, cause basically all I had to do was repeat what my father said, so he got to the part where he said "I state your name ..." blah blah blah and I said "I state your name" just like they did in Animal House. Classic.

previous | random | next