2005-11-28 8:42 p.m.

Turkey Weekend

Me tired. I wish I had had a few more days off.

Thanksgiving was nice. I ordered a fresh Turkey this year. It was very good. If we can swing it next year, I think I'll do it again. This year's meal was amazingly easy to make. The guests brought the veggies, the stuffing and bread and I did everything else. I don't know if I was more prepared this year or what.

My sister had 2 meals, which I didn't realize was going to happen. I'm still not speaking to my mother, which may be a small miracle, but my sister is, so sis had Mom to her house for lunch and then they came to my house at 5:00pm, which was suppose to be 3:00pm, but when I heard she was doing lunch I knew she'd be late. It all worked out. Mom is pissed, but ... well I knew that would happen. I'm sure sis did too. I wonder how Christmas will go?

We all had dinner at 6:00pm and everything was good. We then relaxed after dessert. I made a pumpkin pie, an apple pie and a cake. The cake was weird. Some people seemed to like it, but it's still in the fridge. I think it will be making it's way to the trash.

Friday I awoke around 8:00am and did an itty bit of shopping. It wasn't nearly as crowded as I expected. I was back home by 10:00am. We were really lazy on Friday. I think I took a nap and oddly enough the children didn't go anywhere. They were still asleep when I got home. It was a weird day. Oh we went out to dinner, so I guess we did something. I also bought a couple of movies for the holiday: Polar Express and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, so I know the kids watched those a few times.

Saturday was another home day only this time the kids didn't sit at home and do nothing. They actually socialized. And I made turkey soup with heavy dose of turkey. It was my first soup try. Next time I'll add more water or less turkey or something. Sunday we went ice skating. I'm sore again. Surprise! My back hurts and I didn't even fall down. I'm not sure what I'm doing that I shouldn't do, but I need to stop it.

Work was busy today. Why are we always busy around the holidays? You'd think I was in retail or something.

I think I'll go to bed early, maybe my back will feel better tomorrow.

previous | random | next