2005-10-19 4:34 p.m.

Is it Safe Here?

dh and dd1 went back to work and school. dd2 and I are still doing well. I guess our day will come.

Last night somebody killed another person with a hammer in a neighborhood not all that far from me. Wow! I must admit I didn't really know that was possible. It turns out it was a disgruntled x-employee who had come back to vandalize some of the equipment and these other 2 people came out to see what was going on when the guy hit one of them. That's scarey.

A few years ago a man (that I met once or twice) shot his neighbor's 20 something son for attempting to get into his house. It turned out the son was drunk, naked, and had a full bladder. He went outside to pee and got confused and went back to the wrong door (it was town houses that were attached). I actually don't fault the man for shooting the son, but he shot him multiple times, in the back. (The neighbor's son died.) The man went to jail, though he claimed it was self defense. Ah hah.

Anyway, my point is that I'm not feeling so safe any more.

Oh, and a mall that I've frequented in the past, got robbed last night.

I bought my Power Ball tickets. Woo Hoo! I've just donated $3 to someone's big win and most likely not mine, but you can't win if you don't play. I'd really like to know how it feels to win 314 million dollars.

Next week is fast approaching. Next week is the week I may have jury duty. A lovely week of going down to the city and sitting in the court house reading boring books hoping I don't get picked for anything. I need to map out my route so I don't get lost. I need to find comfortable shoes for walking all over the place. I need aspirin for the headache I always get when going into the city. Ugh! Anyone want to go in my place?

previous | random | next