2005-06-23 9:13 p.m.

Marriage

Anyone hear any shoes dropping? I have a bad feeling about this.

On another note, I was recalling this morning's radio show discussion. It was about things the wife gave away or made the husband give away/throw away soon after the couple got married. The hosts were asking people to call in and say the "best" thing that was given away. Casey Boy (one of the show regulars) said his wife made him give away a giant cardboard Homer. The station manager had to get rid of a pillow he had from childhood. (I'm kinda thinking that should have gone.) One of the callers' wives threw away his beer can collection.

I didn't make my husband give away anything. Frankly he didn't have much, either did I. However the beer can collection is in our Den. The neon lights are in various places. I'd like them in the windows in the garage, but that hasn't happened yet. His little toy truck collection is in his office. I wonder if this really only happens to couples who had a place of their own before they got married? Both my dh and I still lived at home. We were pretty young. Watching my sister divorce after a 10 year marriage makes me wonder how my dh and I managed to stay together till now. Watching how nasty my bil is being is making me feel like the Good Witch in the Wizard of Oz and trust me I'm not that nice. Hell I'm sure there are days where dh wishes a house would fall on me.

In fact we did have troubles, do have troubles, but serious troubles around the time my father died. I seriously considered bailing. dd1 was only 4 and dd2 was a baby. Watching sis and bil I realize now that I probably would have put the kids through hell.

I don't know. We still have communication issues and another issue ... Sometimes dh just won't bend. He won't even talk about bending. Just talk ... Compromise seems to be a dirty word. Maybe it is. bil doesn't like it either.

I saw a do-it-yourself-divorce web site today. Who uses this? Do people really divorce nicely?

Have a good day all. We'll see what tomorrow brings.

previous | random | next