2005-10-07 12:48 p.m.

Open your eyes and sniff the World

Remember that rape thing I mention a few entries back. I found a picture. It's not gross. Weird but not gross.


So yesterday was my friend's father's funeral. It went well. I was expecting some drama. To say this family is strange is stating it lightly. My friend is pretty normal (hell I'm not, so why should he be?), but the rest are wacked. Anyway it was nice. The one thing I walked away with is this weird saying that he apparently said rather often: "Open your eyes and sniff the World." Doesn't that just say it all? I like that. I may keep it. Frankly what I remember was: "When I win the Lottery I'm taking everyone to Disney. You and you and you and ..." He said this every time I saw him for almost 20 years. RIP Man, I hope wherever you are it resembles Disney.

Funerals are weird for me. I've known of people who don't go to them because they don't do funerals. Can't say I get that. Aren't you suppose to go to support the people who lost a loved one? Anyway, funerals always ended up reminding me of the ones I've been to before and the loved one I lost. My father's was really hard. I sat there with a 2 week old baby and my sister started to talk in front of everyone. She got to the part about how she had wanted Dad to walk her down the aisle at her wedding to take place later that year and I lost it. I had forgotten. Had he too? What on earth was he thinking? Suicide. Don't do it. So I was thinking about my Dad yesterday. I was wishing I had been able to speak at his funeral, but I was so so sad. I couldn't say a damn thing. If I had I would have told everyone what they already knew. He was a wonderful kind man. I was going to miss him. I still do. My grandmother died last year. I thought about her too. Rest in Peace.

previous | random | next