2011-07-10 10:00 p.m.

Mom's Kitchen Fire

So today has been a long day. A neighbor of my mother's woke us up. My mother had a kitchen fire and was sitting in her car. Well that threw me. I got dressed and so did dh and about the time we were trying to get out the door the phone rang again and now mom was going to the hospital.

So we went to the hospital. She burnt her foot. It's pretty bad, though she seems to be dealing with it pretty well. I know I would be a lot more whiny. I find burns to be really painful. They let her out of the ER by 11am.

dh left to check Mom's house and the cats since one of them was unaccounted for. The kitchen fire was worse then I expected. I figured there was soot and stuff, but the microwave is melted, so was the stove and even one of the cabinet facing. And there was black stuff everywhere. I don't really understand what happened. Either did Mom. She said she was making an omelet. She put a frying pan with oil on the stove then went to feed the cats. When she came back into the kitchen the pan was on fire. She moved the pan and somewhere in there she spilt some of the oil on her food.

Shit happens. I know this, but she was very repetitive. I think she explained the omelet thing about 20 times and then she kept saying she usually has oatmeal. I get it, it's stressful, you relive the event, but lately I've been questioning whether she has dementia and this did not help. To top it off, we take her home and she then feels she left her rings at the hospital. We call, they say No, but we drive to the hospital and now she is convinced that they took them and put them in a baggie and she signed for them. I couldn't tell you because I wasn't there when she got there so I have no idea, but then she says it happened when the girl was bandaging her finger and I was there for that. The girl didn't take the rings then, she wasn't wearing them then.

We go home and we decide to take Mom and her cats to my house. On the drive to my house she remembers where the rings are. Ugh. For my sanity I turn around and sure enough they were where Mom thought. 30 minutes prior she was swearing that the hospital had them. Dementia? Stress? WTF?

I don't know. I swear I'm just writing this so I have something to refer back to.

Positive thing: Mom didn't burn her house down. It could have been a lot worse.

previous | random | next