2006-06-28 12:16 p.m.

Local Flooding

The sun is out today, but all the rain we've had recently is really doing a number the local area. I know, I know the whole North East has gotten slammed over the last 4 days. I'm counting my blessing that I don't live in a flood prone area. However the usual flood prone areas are getting it worse than usual. I saw a picture from Easton and there was a gas station under water. That's a weird sight. I don't live that far north, but I've been to that area quite a few times. It was weird going to work this morning. I drove over a bridge where the water was just under the bridge. I've never seen it that high.

I just heard on the news that a nice resturant I enjoy in Manyunk (sry I don't know how to spell the name) is taking on water. It's a real nice place. I hope they are able to recover.

I think I'm leaving work early. Maybe I'll go home and build an ark (ok, you've read that joke too many times today?)

Oh, dd2 is doing well. She had surgery yesterday to remove the pin they put in in March. She's not putting any weight on the ankle, but otherwise she's doing much better than last time. I'm hoping she moves around a bit more today.

That stupid joke of mine reminded me of something that happened on monday. Before surgery the nurses and doctors ask you questions multiple times. Questions like ... what are you having done, which ankel, do you have any allergies, any bruises, how's your hearing, any missing teeth. Well the first time I got asked about dd2's hearing, I replied that it was pretty good, except when I'm speaking. I got a slight chuckle and decided they hear that joke a little too often, so the next time I got asked that question I just said her hearing was fine. That time the nurse (a different one) mentioned the "except when Mommy is talking" comment. I smiled and told her that I did that joke last round. She laughed and said that if I (or dd2) had been a man, we would have said "What?". She mentioned that almost every single man does that joke, but she rarely gets it from the women. I thought that was funny, cause dh can do that response as if it was built in. Ok that was an awful lot of typing for that little story. Take Care.

previous | random | next