2006-02-24 9:28 p.m.

Wildlife

Entry 2

So did I ever tell you guys about the caterpillar I found in the basement? I can't remember and I'm too lazy to look, so sorry if this is a repeat. About a month ago I found a Wooly Bear caterpillar in the basement. He was near our Christmas decorations, not that that really matters, but I thought it was weird. I brought him upstairs and stuck him in a jar. I thought it would be too cold to put him outside so I kept him inside till I did some reading. According to the reading I needed to cool him down and put him back outside, so I put him in the window and kinda forgot about him and he made a cacoon. This was a bad thing because he wasn't suppose to do that till spring, so now I couldn't put him outside so I decided to see what happens. We got a butterfly cage and I thought we'd get a moth in a couple of weeks. Well 3 weeks later our cacoon hatched (I guess) and now I have a moth. Who knew? I don't have any idea what to feed it. I can't find any information. I've been leaving fruit and sugar water in the cage, but I don't know if it ever eats anything.

So if moth raising isn't weird enough for you, I have something else. I had to leave work early today to take my daughter to an Orthodonist appointment. On the way home I swear I saw a mountain lion. I suspect I didn't leave work early enough. I tried to look up mountain lion sightings, but apparently they aren't in PA anymore. I don't know. I really don't think it was a dog or a dear, but I could be wrong. Or just nuts.

Did anyone hear about that high school in NJ that had 500 kids out with the flu? Can you imagine? Apparently 1500 were out today, but they aren't sure how many were really sick.

Have a good weekend all.

previous | random | next