2005-07-10 2:05 p.m.

Bird

Hello Friends,

I was briefly weeding our front garden yesterday when I came across a baby bird. Geez I almost stepped on him. See for yourself.

Our lovely crab apple has some disease and is dropping all its leaves so it looks like fall in our front yard and this bird blended in perfectly with the leaves. Now he was probably pretty easy to find since I cropped the picture, but trust me, every time he moved I had trouble figuring out where he went. He's a picture from the front.

Unfortunately he died last night. I feel bad. He moved further into the yard and I think maybe the heat got him. I'm not sure. It was a pretty big fall he took. In fact if the nest hadn't been so far away I would have put him back. His mother and father were feeding him even though he was on the ground so I'm not sure what happened. Maybe it was internal injuries. My dh says I worry about these things too much.

We saw a movie last night. It was War of the Worlds. Good movie. Scary. I'm not sure it was the best idea in the world to take dd2. It was a bit much for her. She said she never wanted to see a movie like that again when we left the theather. Stupid parent tricks. I have many.

previous | random | next