2007-08-13 10:34 p.m.

Niagara

Hello,

We're back from vacation. We've been home a few days, but I've been taking it easy. Or trying to, there always seem to be things that need to be done.

We had a nice time on vacation. Niagara Falls was beautiful. You can see pictures here. It may take a while for that link to load up. There are a number of pictures. I kept trying to cut it down, but ... well bottom line ... if you are dial up, skip the link. I'll try to load up a picture or two here later.

The vacation didn't start out on the best of notes. The week prior to vacation my sister's kids spent a couple of days here. I ended up returning one of them with a fever. Guess what I got the night before we went on vacation? Yes, you win ... a sickness. The kind that makes you want to sleep all day. I felt kinda crappy the first couple days of our vacation. Lovely, but I worked through it. dd2 had similar symtoms, but seemed to work through it better than I did.

If you ever get a chance to go to the Corning Factory in Corning NY, I highly recommend it. There was some beautiful stuff there. dh and dd1 made Christmas ornaments and dd2 and I made beads. I'll have to take a picture of all the items. They are very very nice.

If you ever get a chance to tour the Airplane museum near Corning, watch out for the old guy. He's L O N G winded. I thought we'd never leave.

The finger lakes are also beautiful. I just wanted to pull up a chair and sit lakeside with nothing to do. It was just beautiful. I might even take up drinking some wine. We passed a bunch of wineries, but dh and I wouldn't know a good glass of wine if it bit us. We did stop at one, but who knows if we picked up anything good. dh loved the first bottle, but I hated it. Too sweet, well too sweet with some undertone I really didn't like.

Niagara Falls ... well the view from the hotel was breathtaking. I think I took pictures from the window every day. I just couldn't stop myself. We ran ourselves ragged the 2nd day we were there doing all the touristy stuff ... I don't recommend that. The 3rd day we went to an indoor water park and just lounged. That was fun. Can't say the water park was that good, but at least nothing broke. (Did you see the story about the ferris wheel that fell? Amusement parks are starting to scare me.)

The drive home was uneventful. After we got home we saw the Simpsons Movie. It was pretty good. Short, but more or less what I would have expected. As long as dh and the kids liked it I was happy. They liked it.

My bed is calling. Until next time ...

previous | random | next