2008-06-29 7:28 a.m.

Sad

Somehow the last couple of weeks got real busy and I think I might have missed some important things. My mil passed away Friday. Unexpected at the time, but in hind sight I think all the signs were there. In fact I think she might have been living on borrowed time the last 5 weeks, though I'm truly confused about that.

The family is crushed. Maybe even a little more so since dd1 is not home right now. She is on vacation with a friend and we've decided not to tell her till she gets home. I know she will take it very hard. We even talked about the possibility that it (oma's death) might happen while she was gone, but then there was suddenly hope that something could be fixed. I was wrong.

The news is so weird around here. At the momement I can't recall if I gave you an update on my sister. As far as cancer news goes, it would be great. No cancer in the liver. I don't know what the "masses" are, but they aren't cancer. They feel she is Stage I that they have removed it all and that she will most likely only need hormone treatment. No chemo. We're still waiting on one more test, so things might change, but the doctors are leaning to the side of no chemo.

Well guys, my strong, independant, generous, loving mil is dead and I'm sad. I wasn't sure that she and I would get a long in the beginning. She seemed so opinionated and ... well I'm not sure the right word. BUT I never, for a minute, doubted how much she loved her son and her grandchildren. When things were hard or sad (when my father died) she was there. She always leant a helping hand and seemed to know when you needed her. She will truly be missed. She could cook up a storm, had the best garden ....

previous | random | next