2008-06-12 10:40 a.m.

My Baby Graduated

My daughter graduated from high school last night. I'm a bit melancholy today. I'm happy for her, but anxious about the changes that are in store for her and I'm going to miss her when she goes off to school. She is a source of joy and some times a source of anger, but not often. I'm afraid I haven't really prepared her for life outside of our home. I guess every parent worries about that.

She was so happy last night, just beaming. I watched her hug all her friends and thought about how it's never going to be like this again. She's always made friends rather easily, I hope it continues to be that way. But she and her best friend do so much together that I worry a bit. Her best friend is going to school in NY. It's not very close. One day at a time, right?

I think we'll just enjoy the summer first. Yes, first enjoy the summer.

previous | random | next