2006-09-18 10:47 p.m.

Eeek Bug

Have you all seen this video?



They were talking about this on the radio on Friday. People were calling in and sharing their bug stories. I was trying to remember if I have a bug story, I do, though it's not quite as funny as what I heard on the radio

There was this one time, when I was volunteering at the folk fest, that I encountered a spider. I sitting on this small wooden deck and the spider was behind me. I decided to get up and shoo the spider away, but it wouldn't move, so I stomped my foot at it and it jumped in my direction. I screamed, pretty much like the guy in the video, and someone else had to come to my rescue. Someone who thought I was acting like a child. Indeed ... I was.


I have another similar story, but it's about my dad. When I was 12 or so we went camping in Northern Pennsylvania, somewhere, and we stayed in a log cabin. Unknown to us, a nest of snakes had hatched out beneath the cabin. A couple mornings in a row I had to take a couple of small snakes out of the cabin. Mom had mentioned to keep it on the down low because Dad didn't like snakes. So ... one evening Mom and Dad were preparing dinner when Dad noticed something by the oven, he reached down to get it when he realized it was a snake and ran outside. Now Mom is in the kitchen, my sister and I were at the lake (actually I think we were making our way back), and she didn't really want to pick the snake up either, so she asked Dad to get a stick. To which Dad replied, and this is when you can tell how frightened of snakes he really is, ... "What's a stick?". Poor Dad, he went down in history for that one. He's standing in a wooden area (I mean so many trees there is hardly any grass) and he's having trouble finding a stick. I think he found a neighbor though. My sister and I got back when the neighbor was bringing out the snake. That evening we got a ranger and that's when we found out we had quite a few under the cabin. They moved them. I was glad. I'm sure I would have found it quite unnerving to find a few dozen snakes in the cabin.


Oh Goody, it's bedtime. I have this nagging headache. I took 2 aspirin 1 hour ago, but I still have the headache. I hope I'm able to sleep. Today was a long day. A few of the triggers I wrote for work didn't work as well as I hoped and I spent most of the morning debugging them. Then I had homework for the class I'm taking so I did some reading at work. That probably sounds really bad, but I'm only able to charge half the time I work to the project I'm working on, so I'm not feeling that guilty about it. Now when I said I was doing something else, I really was. Heres hoping they don't base any other projects on this project. They will never have the time right. Ok, I'm going to bed. Here's hoping that 2 aspirin and 1 Excederin PM is ok.

previous | random | next