2006-09-07 11:37 a.m.

Blackened Chicken

Last night I made blackened chicken for dinner. I didn't mean to make it, but the grill and I had a miscommunication. I thought it would do what it always does when I make a beer can chicken, but nooooo ... I left it for 15 mins on high and came back to find the grill over 750 degrees and one very black chicken under the lid. I bet you think it was odd that I left it on high. I've done it before and it NEVER (and I mean NEVER) went over 500 degrees. It was only going to be 15 mins. Yes I set a timer. I know.

So ... well in addition to the blackened chicken, I also have a blackened grill which didn't make my husband too happy. Hell I wasn't happy either. This was suppose to be easy. I do it all the time. It has to be the 10th chicken I've made this way. I changed the color of the grill, it won't light, and now it needs a new thermometer. Fun. I'm sure I'll hear about this for months to come.

We ate the chicken. Aside from the black outside, it was pretty good. Oddly moist.

I don't think I'll be making the beer can chicken for a while. That's a real shame too, it's usually very good.

I found the spider that was in my roses. He moved over to my butterfly bush. He had a very pretty web. It was lightly coated with dew this morning. No picture though. The yard was all wet and I didn't want to get my feet wet.

previous | random | next