2006-08-01 11:07 a.m.

Happy August

Hello,

How about that heat? I guess we are all hot now. To be honest I'm sitting in an air conditioned office, I haven't a clue, unless the air conditioning breaks.

The kids are home, but even they don't leave the house when it's this hot. I worry about my air conditioning bill, but compared to the gas bill I had in the winter it can't be worse. Electric is now cheaper than gas.

We had a party this past weekend. It went well and I didn't flip out. It was hot though. A number of people stayed in the house. I do wish I had realized where the shade was going to be and put everyone in the same place. I didn't plan that part. I had a lot of cooking to do and I was paying more attention to that. I think everyone had a good time though.

I thought more of the adults would play, but the playing seemed to be more of a kid event. I think if our yard had more shade, more adults would have played. I even bought water ballons. I'll have to do that again. That was fun.

Sunday was a big lazy day. I accomplished nothing.

Want to hear something stupid? Sure, why not? I grounded dd2 yesterday. Why? Well she threw all her underwear away. Why? Well she's entered womanhood and they got dirty. She felt they were too nasty to clean herself. I swear I've talked about this with her and I don't think I indicated it was ok to throw them away. Though there are good reasons to throw underwear away.

Do you know how I found out? She was at a friends house and asked if she could stay over. I said yes and that I would bring her some clothes. Imagine my surprise when I opened her drawers and found one pair. I asked her sister to check the laundry I just did and there was nothing. This child had 14 pairs last I knew. I do laundry every week, it didn't add up. And ... I don't know how long it's been like this. Oh Well I'll get over this. Maybe. Hopefully that's our dumb stunt for the month.

previous | random | next