2006-07-02 8:38 a.m.

Amish or Not

dd1 is in Alaska and that's all I know. She sounded good on the machine. I was disappointed that we missed her call (even though I said ... call my cell). Luckily she can email, so I'm sure I'll see an email sometime.

Yesterday we went to Lancaster. We played our favorite country car game of: "Amish or Not"

House with no eletric ... Amish
House with Amish clothes on line ... Amish
House with antenna ... Not Amish
House with boy in Amish clothing using gas weed wacker ... Amish?
House with a very small building with telephone line going to it in yard ... Amish
Two men in Amish clothing working on a horse drawn wagon of some sort that was bundling up hay or straw with an engine of some sort ... what? They can use engines? I guess my Amish knowledge needs updating. Not that I was an expert by any means. (I did some reading on the internet and engines for farming are allowed.)
I also saw a car stop in a driveway a man in Amish clothing get out and check the mail ... dh said he couldn't be Amish, they can't drive and he wasn't, he was the passenger, but I wondered ... faux Amish? (Maybe they were Mennonites?) I know they will hire a driver if they have to go long distances. I heard of that before because of a Farmer's market I used to attend.

We had a really nice day yesterday. The weather was very cooperative. I hope today is as nice.

I wish I had slept in a little longer today. I'm still tired. At least I slept better than I was sleeping the past few nights.

Have a great Sunday everyone!

previous | random | next