2013-07-13 6:43 a.m.

Eye Surgery

Hi,

I couldn't sleep. I know, I know it's really not that early, but I've been awake since 5:00am.

I tattle tailed on someone at work yesterday. I guess I'm feeling a little guilty about that. One of my coworkers leaves early (or doesn't even bother to come in) if our boss doesn't come in to work. When I first noticed it, I thought it was funny, but now I'm annoyed and I've been telling more people, so I decided to just tell my boss. Rather recently they told us all we couldn't work from home, we had to come in, so since they made a stink about that I said something. Here's hoping the karma train doesn't get me.

Mom had eye surgery the other day to repair a macular hole. The surgery went well, but I ended up spending all day with her (16 hours), which I haven't done lately and it's clear she is having a lot more trouble than I thought. Actually it confirmed what I noticed just before she went away for a couple of weeks. Confirmed what people told me about when she visited them. I'm not really sure she can be living independently any more.

She forgot I was at the hospital (multiple times). She is supposed to be in a face down position as much as humanly possible for 4 days. She keeps forgetting or she is trying to negotiate what face down is. I rented equipment hoping that it would be a physical reminder, but she has a hard time laying on her tummy. The equipment has other setups too, but she's too heavy to get in the needed position. The funny thing about that is that I tried everything out and I'm heavier than she is and I didn't have any (any) trouble. I know I carry my weight differently, but Wow! I also sleep on my stomach. You should have seen how much trouble she had getting on her stomach or even understanding the position she needed to get in to watch TV. The equipment also came with a mirror so that if you were laying down (or face down) you could position it to see the TV. Well that was a big FAIL. She couldn't figure out how to use it, how to move it or anything. And I must suck the big one because I couldn't explain it to save my life. How frustrating!

Oddly enough she ate pretty well while I was there. That doesn't usually happen, but when we were talking during dinner she forgot she had surgery earlier that day. That hasn't really happened before. The big events usually stick.

I also found out she was missing a medication. Had no idea where the bottle was. That's only notable because she is usually good about that. For whatever the reason the doctor and medicine stuff usually stick. She can't remember what she had for lunch and gets the day wrong, but remembers her medicines.

So 7 months after moving into independent living I'm wondering if she needs assisted living and I'm wrestling with whether she should still be driving. I hope I don't go this way. Grandmom had to stop driving, but she still understood everything. I can't say that was better, but I wouldn't have worried if she took a taxi or a bus. I know she would remember where she was going and what she was doing. If Mom can't drive because she might forget how to drive or where she is going then she can't really take a bus either. Right? The place she is at has vans that go to the mall and shopping and such, but if she doesn't remember what time to return, will they go find her?

She was in a good mood the whole time and accepted direction well. At least she didn't get mad at me. That would have really frustrated me.

previous | random | next