2008-05-21 7:58 a.m.

Feeling Crappy

So ... the news about my sister is not as good as hoped. She had a bunch of scans done a couple of days before surgery and one of them found spots on her liver. I don't know what the hell that means and neither do they. AND to top it off there is nothing to do right now because the reconstructive surgery is all ready started and she has some metal clip in her body. The doctor wants to do another MRI, but no can do because of the metal. The metal could be there for 3-6 months. So we sit with the unknown till then. So, there isn't another test? Nothing else to check? Are they assuming this is something bad? I don't know. I must admit I've done some reading. The liver is the 3rd most popular place for the cancer to go and it can go via the lymph nodes or via the blood. Since her nodes were clear it could have gone via the blood. Or it could be nothing. It had 2 years. Yeah 2 years. She had a spot on her mamogram 2 years ago, but it was the baseline. I guess they didn't feel it was anything. They were more concerned about some scar tissue she had elsewhere. 2 years later it was 1 of 3 spots and now it looked suspicious (because they were in a line). So why wasn't there a mamogram at year 1? And you know what else? The cancer they found in her breast wasn't even on the mamogram. (She had 2 types of cancer.) It was in her entire breast. Why are we having these damn mamograms in the first place?

I've managed to scare my children. Hell I'm scared. My mother keeps telling me she has a bad feeling. Hah! I wish she'd stop telling me that. She lost her mother to cancer. She's scared too. She's in a tizzy even and there's nothing I can do.

And you know what else? I think there should be disability for family members of sick people. Hell I think there should be a good protection in place for sick people. Whole different problem.

I'm going to an oncology appointment today. I don't know what to expect. More bad news or good news? Or any news at all. I hope he has her records so that this is not a wasted appointment.

previous | random | next