2008-04-25 10:09 a.m.

Teenagers

Well I pissed off dd1 last night. I'm not even sure what I was up to. I wanted to talk about college and beyond and see what she was thinking, but she didn't want to talk. Just wants to sit in front of the damn TV and computer. There were a few things I wanted her to do, like to read about the college program of our local community college and make an appointment to take some tests and meet with someone at the college. She hasn't done it. I wanted her to fill out an application for the college she liked so it would be ready for the college visit we are doing tomorrow. She didn't do it. I wanted her to enhance her portfolio with some additional pictures and sketches. She won't do it. I have a right to be mad, but I reduced her to tears and that's not what I wanted. Why is it one extreme or the other? She even told me she couldn't work on these things because she has so much going on at school. Really? She was watching TV when I got home from work and then when I returned from a meeting. Really! I don't think she knows what work is. Busy is. Typical teenager right? I know. I know. But this is important. Put some effort into it. Risk some failure. She's a good kid. She really is, but you can't skate through life just because you are good.

So there's my rant for now. I'll go home to a pissed off kid. Maybe I'll be able to suck it up by then and be rational.

previous | random | next