2007-01-10 3:32 p.m.

Mummer

Ok, I'm tired of reading this book. Yes, all 10 of the pages I've read since yesterday. There has to be a better way.

So Megan asked what a Mummer was. I have some links to some pictures. The first 2 are old and the last is pictures from the most recent parade.

Link 1
Link 2
Link 3

Philadelphia has a New Year's Day Parade every year and that parade is the Mummer's parade. Mummers are people dressed in strange and colorful costumes. The beginning of the parade is the comics (or so I think) and I personally believe these are people who are drunk off their a%^es, want to dress up and walk down Main Street (or whatever street the parade is on now-a-days). However the drunk thing got to be an issue, so I believe they have to be sober now. To be honest I'm clueless. I never really liked the beginning of the parade. I liked what came later which was the string bands. They too dress up and do some sort of routine, sorta like a Band competition. Some are quite elaborate and others ... not so much. There is a division called the Fancies, but I don't really know the difference between the string bands and the fancies. I always liked what came last. When I was little my parents watched them and we ate dinner in front of the TV, but now that I'm married, my little family doesn't watch them as much. I don't think I've caught the end of the parade in years. I do know the band that won this year spent lots of money so they could win 6 in a row. It saddens me to think that the band that spent the most money won. It doesn't say much for the future. (Don't quote me on that. I truly don't know if what I just wrote is true.)

Ok, back to my reading. Wake me in a few ... would ya?

previous | random | next