2006-11-16 2:04 p.m.

Home Sweet Home

How's it hanging everyone?

I finally have time to do an update. Things have been crazy since we got home. I knew they would be. We had a Production release to do this week and there were a lot of things to be done. I've been doing major overtime this week. I don't think I've seen my kids more than an hour a day. I need to put some quality time in with them. Not to mention I've been really tired since I got home from vacation. I'm not sure what's up with that. It's not like I was up late while we were away.

So how was my first cruise. Well I can check that off my "Things I want to do" list. I'm not sure I'll do it again. I know being sick with some sort of sinus thing before we left was not a good way to start a vacation. Luckily I was feeling better Friday and the flight to Florida was an easy one. Finding the hotel was really easy too, but we missed dinner. Ooops. It was a beautiful hotel. Somehow we ended up with suite hotel rooms. I wish I had had gone swimming, but I didn't want a wet bathing suit in my luggage.

So the first day in Port was pretty good, but once the boat started moving things went down hill. I decided to switch to the patch and that was a mistake. It made me feel worse. After having to leave the formal dinner and having trouble at our first port I went to the infirmary and they told me to take off the patch. I then took dramamine the rest of the trip and did pretty well. As much as people kept telling me that the boat was hardly moving ... The boat was moving people. It did something weird to my ears, though that may have been because of the sinus thing I had.

Mexico was beautiful. I'm not sure if I have any good pictures. I haven't had time to look and I need a printer cartridge to print the pictures. I haven't even had time to go to the store. Isn't that weird?

The weather was really nice while we were gone. Probably the mid 80s. I don't remember any of the days being overly hot. All the ports (except maybe the first one) had beautiful pools. I was a little disappointed with the shopping, not much middle ground. Either expensive jewlery or stuff I wasn't terribly interested in. Even so I came home with a suitcase that was way too heavy.

I suspect my friends were a little disappointed in us. We are not huge drinker and hardly drank at all. I was trying to keep myself in check so that I knew why I was sick and I wasn't doing anything stupid. Running out of a resturant in heals and formal wear once is enough. Oddly I look pretty good in the pictures. Isn't that weird?

Cruise food wasn't quite as good as I hoped. All the sit down dinners were very good, but the buffet ... sucked. It all seemed the same and didn't have much taste (though my sinus thing may have affected my taste buds).

Next big trip will be Vegas or Hawaii.

I'm happy I'm home and sleeping in a bed that isn't moving. (Though I now know why babies fall asleep when they are rocked ... I did not have trouble sleeping while on this cruise.)

I hope you are doing well.

previous | random | next