2005-07-19 10:00 a.m.

Dad

I wrote a poem a long time ago about my father. I actually wrote 2 and they are they only poems I ever wrote. Here they are.

He's an Angel Now

He's an angel now
Like he's always been
Giving everyone a helping hand
There's no depression now
No verbal assaults
No abusive thoughts
No more sleepless nights
No more awful fights
No Forgetfulness
No more second guessing
He's an angel now
Watching over me


Dad

Nobody saw it coming
Nobody understood
Nobody saw his pain
I do not think they could

He didn't share his feelings
He didn't share his thoughts
Everyone thought they knew him
Nobody ever could

Early one afternoon
He took his life in vain
Now he is gone forever
Because of an old shot gun

How do we tell our children?
How do we tell our friends?
What do we say to each other
About our father, our husband, our friend?

How did this tragic ending
Become a reality?
How could we see it coming?
Why didn't we?

How will he be remembered?
The laughter, the joy, the good?
No, we can only remember
The sadness, the madness, the gun.

So what do we tell each other?
How do we remember this man?
How do we remember the good times
Without rembering the end?


It's been a long time. I no longer remember only the end. I remember him and I miss him.

previous | random | next