2014-11-13 10:41 p.m.

Stupid stupid stupid

So I did it again. Yelling at my coworker, my stupid coworker.

I sent him this note:
***********************************
Hi Coworker,

I have the code in place for blah blah blah, but I did make a couple of small changes that may impact the Service.

1) I added an optional parameter to blah blah blah. There are some updates in this process and I didn�t want those updates to happen if the procedure is just being run to see what it would return. This should not require a change to the Service because it�s optional and the default value of zero is what the Service should send.

2) I added another blah blah. It can be seen as output from the procedure and should be used as input to the other procedure you call. Now this could require a change to the Web Service if the code cannot handle any blah blah (or only handles 1,2,3 and 4). 5 would be handled like 4. {Actually for now, any number greater than 4 should be handled like 4.}

Could you let me know if the Service is ok? If it is, could you set it up so that it runs on the Development database? I don�t need it to run every minute, but if it could run every 5 minutes, that would be nice. If it�s not ok, could you let me know when it is?

Thanks
Me
**********************************

Then I got this email in return

**********************************
Hi, You
When you�ll have a time, can you explain to me why do we need this?
a) If I will not change Service, blah blah blah will automatically receive value 0, is it OK? Or I�ll need to send 1
b) For blah blah blah UI will automatically send contact source from blah blah blah
Question: Do I need to do any changes for Service?
Thanks
Coworker

**********************************

Really?? Did he even bother to read my email? Almost every correspondence is like this. I don't think he ever reads them. He will also send me emails and then walk over to tell me he has a question for me. I always replay the same thing ... Does this have anything to do with the email you just sent? He usually says No, but it's lies.

He annoys me so much now that I can't even compose myself. I can't believe I ever defended him. I can't believe I thought my other coworkers were too hard on him. He's a nice guy. Bullshit! He's a moron. I'm expected to write code so that he doesn't have to make changes to his code. Amazing.

I've even been told I'm overacting. I probably am, but I'm not alone in my dislike of this man. Many coworkers will not work with him. At least 3 other coworkers regularly got in yelling matches with him. Something about that is just not right. He's always afraid of being laid off. I can't believe it hasn't happened already. He can't treat us all like this and expect no ramifications. Even if all of this might be related to an illness.

previous | random | next